The Porsche 924 Owners Club
It is currently Tue Apr 13, 2021 12:20 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Newbie looking for guidance
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:45 pm 
Club Member

Model: 924
Hello all,
Very new to this so apologies if posted in the wrong place etc.
Basically always fancied a 924 and have read the buyers guide so just wanted to ask the group whether my expectations are realistic.
I’m working on a £5000 budget and want a 924 probably 2L, earlier the better. I have no car maintenance experience so want something that is sorted mechanically but I hope to do/learn basic services etc. Body work and interior doesn’t have to be amazing however I want something structurally sound and rust free (car will be garage stored). The car will be used weekly for very short journeys and the odd longer one so wear and tear will be minimal.
I am based in Derbyshire so the closer the better.
Ideally I would love to get one that has been someone’s treasure and would want theirs to come to a caring home, paperwork etc would be a bonus.
My questions,
Is the £5000 budget realistic?
Where are the best places (other than here) to buy one (never been too sure about eBay etc)?
If anyone is willing to share advice it would be much appreciated
Many thanks

Post subject: Re: Newbie looking for guidance
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2020 3:00 pm 
Regional Officer - The South East

Model: 924 red 1981
£5000 will get you a very nice 2 litre, which is the simplest model and easiest to learn on. The 2litre (or just ‘924’ rather than 924S or 924 turbo), is a great car to learn mechanics on, being from a time mostly before electronics, so you get to fix them with spanners etc. They were made from 1976 to 1985, and were slowly improved through the models life so a 76 one, although looking very similar to an 85, will feel very different to drive and will feel very different to be in.